Snip Snap

In starting off the year with 1st graders, I wanted to combine some fiction/nonfiction discussions with some research. Our school mascot is the crocodile, but I had more alligator fiction books that I wanted to use, so we did alligators because it was pretty close. (We did talk about how alligators and crocodiles are different animals though!)

The first week, we read Snip Snap What’s That and A Girl and Her Gator. After talking about the different points of view between the two books, the students chose if they would want an alligator or not and why. Then, they wrote why and drew a picture to support their answer.

100_1340

The books we read.

100_1341

I would like an alligator. Because I would watch tv with her.

100_1344

I would not like an alligator. Alligators look weird.

100_1345

I would like an alligator because it will help me read a book. And I get to name him Joanna.

100_1346

I would like an alligator. Because he would be my friend.

The following week, we reviewed the Super 3 and read about real alligators. I modeled and then they wrote three things they learned about alligators with pictures to support their statements. We have been talking a lot about how the pictures need to show what the words say, so if you are talking about their teeth, your picture needs to show their teeth.

100_1357

Alligators have sharp teeth. Alligators can swim. Alligators can walk.

100_1358

They have sharp teeth. They have scales. They have look like logs.

100_1360

Alligators sharp teeth. Alligators eat fish and turtles. Alligators have long tails.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

