Twitter Rocks!

I love to use Twitter. I read it more than I tweet myself, but if you want to follow me I am @nclibrarygal. You can ask questions, find awesome resources, make connections, but the reason I love it most is sometimes you get to say something to someone you would never otherwise get to talk to. Bear with me and I will pick the Twitter theme back up in a few minutes.

This week I finally had time to read Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library. If you have not read this book yet, READ IT! I loved it! It was a great adventure with lots of book titles and reading fun PLUS he makes libraries awesome! Ok – I am not making it sound as good as it was, but this would be a fantastic read aloud because there are boy and girl characters, so you could do a lot with it and everyone can relate. It is exciting and adventurous without violence. I envision point of view lessons, character traits lessons, predictions, and so much more. Here is the official description from Chris Grabenstein’s website:

Can twelve 12-year-olds escape from the most ridiculously brilliant library ever created?

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library plunks a dozen sixth-graders into the middle of a futuristic library for a night of nonstop fun and adventure.

In a nod to Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, this fast-paced new novel features an eccentric billionaire who welcomes a group of children into a fantasy setting full of weird, wondrous touches.

Kyle is a game fan—board games, word games, and especially video games! Kyle’s hero, the famous gamemaker Luigi Lemoncello, is the genius behind the design of the town’s new public library, which contains not only books, but an IMAX theater, an electronic learning center, instructional holograms, interactive dioramas and electromagnetic hover ladders that float patrons up to the books they want.

Lucky Kyle wins a spot as one of the first twelve kids invited to a gala, overnight library lock-in filled with of fun and games. But the next morning, when the lock-in is supposed to be over, the doors remain locked. Kyle and the others must follow book-related clues and unravel all sorts of secret puzzles to find the hidden escape route if they want to win Mr. Lemoncello’s most fabulous prize ever.

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library is more than a rib-tickling novel full of humor and suspense. It’s a game in itself, in which readers can have fun solving clues and answering riddles while learning how to navigate the Dewey Decimal system. Eagle-eyed kids—not to mention their parents, teachers, and librarians—can also hunt for the names of authors and classic books sprinkled throughout the fast-moving story.

Rumor has it there is even one puzzle that is in the book but not in the story. Can you find and solve it?

So, how does this relate to Twitter you ask? Well, this morning I tweeted about the book and take a look who replied to me within 3 minutes?

tweet

Uh yes, that would be the author of this New York Times Bestselling book! Tweeted to me. Excuse me while I just geek out for a few minutes…

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

